New Mexico begins a Statewide Ban on Texting and Driving

On Tuesday, New Mexico became the 42nd state to put a ban on texting while driving.  Senate Bill 19 was signed into law in early 2014, making it illegal to text or talk on the phone while driving. Drivers can still talk on the phone if they are using a hands free device.

According to the National Highway and Traffic Administration, thousands of people die every year due to distracted driving. Several incidents have reportedly happened in New Mexico from people being on their cell phones and on the road at the same time.

 Violating this new law can lead to a $25 fine for the first offense but after that the fine doubles to $50.  Most people are glad to see something put in place to fight against the dangerousness of texting and driving.