New Mexico Car Insurance

In the state of New Mexico, before being able to take a car out on the road drivers must show that they are financially responsible and capable of covering the price of being involved in a car accident. The most common way that people establish that they are financially responsible is by purchasing liability car insurance.

The state of New Mexico requires a minimum coverage of:

·      $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person

·      $50,000 per accident for bodily injury to or death of two or more people

·      $10,000 per accident for property damages

Proof of insurance must be with drivers at all times and drivers are required to have it readily available if they are involved in an accident or if a police officer asks to see proof of insurance.

Inability to provide insurance at the time, but still having insurance, will create the hassle of having  to bring the proof of insurance on the day the driver disputes the ticket. If a driver is truly driving without insurance, they may face a misdemeanor or other criminal charges, fines, or loss of vehicle registration.

The state of New Mexico has an Insurance Identification Database (IIDB) that helps insurance companies to notify the state if someone is not insured. If drivers allow their insurance to stop then they will automatically be put into the system and the state will send them a notice saying they need to get insurance or provide them proof that they have insurance.