Texas Drivers Are Reminded to Stop at School Buses

School bus stop signTexas drives are required by law to stop when school buses have their stop sign extended, but many fail to do so. Under state law, drivers approaching a stopped school bus that is about to receive or discharge a student and has its stop sign extended are required to stop until either (1) the bus resumes motion, (2) the bus driver signals the driver to proceed, or (3) the stop sign on the bus is retracted. Failing to comply with this law could lead to a fine between $500 and $1,250, but if your second offense in five years, the minimum fine is $1,000.

In Austin last semester, police fined more than 900 drivers in a single week. Drivers are encouraged to avoid distractions and pay particular attention when driving in the vicinity of school buses.

 

 

 

Click here for more information.